top of page


Ian Tamblyn has been a working  musician since 1972. He has released dozens of albums of his work as well as acting as producer for many other artists.  Over the years Ian has written too many songs and has given up on counting them. He has also written fourteen plays and over one hundred theatre soundtracks.

Mr. Tamblyn has received a number of awards and nominations. In 2012, Ian was made a fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographic Society for his guiding and creative  work in the Canadian Arctic. He has been awarded the Estelle Klein and Helen Verger Awards for his contributions to Canadian folk music; he has a honourary doctorate from Lakehead University, a Distinguished Alumni Award from Trent University and was voted English Songwriter of the Year in 2010 by the Canadian Folk Music Awards, amongst other awards and nominations in the music and theatre world.

Ian's songs have been covered by numerous artists and there is a tribute album of his work entitled Coastline of our Dreams featuring artists like Lynn Miles, Susan Crowe , Hart Rouge and Valdy.  


Juno Award for BEST ALBUM COVER for the self-titled album Ian Tamblyn

Juno Award

Japanese Folk Award For the album When Will I See You Again

Japanese Folk Award

Juno Nomination - For the album Magnetic North

Juno Nomination

Northern Lights/Festival Boreal

Jackie Washington Award

For the play Whale

Tapa Dora Award Nomination

Lakehead University

Honorary Doctorate

Ottawa Council for the Arts

Victor Tolgesy Award

Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards, Vancouver

Jessie Award Nomination

Ottawa Folk Festival

Helen Verger Award

Ontario Council of Folk Festivals

Estelle Klein Award

Association of West Quebecers

Award for Outstanding Achievement

Canadian Folk Music Awards

Best Album Nomination

bottom of page